U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-10-2009, 04:20 PM

18 posts, read 30,364 times

Advertisements

Hello City-Data,

I'm new here, forgive me if this question is redundant but as an African American graduate I would like to know which southern cites are best for my demographic? I'm fairly young, under 25, and looking for a place BESIDES Atlanta that offers great opportunity and potential in the long run.

It would be a plus if the city included an active African American community but it's not a deal breaker.

Help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-10-2009, 04:41 PM

8,190 posts, read 12,329,638 times
A lot of this will depend on your chosen career field, but Charlotte, Raleigh, Houston, Dallas, and Nashville are all good options. Just make sure you line up a job first before you move.

Old 11-10-2009, 04:47 PM

3,368 posts, read 10,505,228 times
I don't mean to criticize your exclusion of Atlanta, but what exactly is it about Atlanta that you don't like?

Atlanta and Washington, DC seem to be by far the best options for a young, African-American professional that wants to meet similar people. I don't wish to start a flame war, but Washington, DC is, after all, a historically Southern city. If I had to name a third city, it would be Houston.

Old 11-10-2009, 04:47 PM

Why did you pick those cities?