U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-23-2010, 11:14 PM

9 posts, read 17,098 times

Advertisements

I am an early thirties professional single guy originally from Philadelphia looking to relocate.
I can work in pretty much any part of the country I want.
Aspects of a city most important to me include:
single professional women
night life
culture
outdoor/athletic activities/sports

I was thinking about Boston, Mass. or Austin, Texas.
I used to live in Fla. but i'm not interested in going there right now.
I think Chicago would be cool but the winters I hear are pretty harsh.
NYC I think would be too big for me.
I am an East Coast guy but i've heard great things about Texas.
I thought I would ask people from my own area first what they thought because perhaps some of you have been to these areas and could shed some light on what it would be like for a Philly guy to relocate in these places.
I have recently completed a lot of training in my field (12 yrs) and am looking to develop other aspects of my life so a city with a lot of amenities and plenty of professional people to meet is best for me

Am I just being silly? Should I just stay in Philadelphia?

Any serious advice would be greatly appreciated
Thanks
Quick reply to this message

Old 02-23-2010, 11:39 PM

4,868 posts, read 12,018,889 times
We are closing in on 7 ft of snow for this winter if I were in your shoes Id be heading for Honolulu,SD , Orange County, or Scottsdale.

Best of luck in your future decision.

Old 02-24-2010, 06:44 AM

7,934 posts, read 17,325,885 times