U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Great Debates
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-16-2012, 06:50 PM

6,562 posts, read 10,826,323 times

Advertisements

Maybe I'm really a psychopath (and don't know about it)..

Or maybe I've been using online forums and newsgroups for so long (almost 20 years of my life, well over half the time I've been alive.)

But I just don't seem to react very much to criticism, put downs, or even personal attacks against me or my values anymore, at least on online forums (I'm talking about forums in general, not this one in particular.)

Relatively speaking, it seems most people are easily hurt or offended if they receive a rather harsh reply to what they've posted on the forums.

I often see online forums as a goldmine of anonymous advice.. if you don't care about the criticism and can face the harsh realities of your situation. It seems no matter how nasty of a response you get from anyone, you will still be alive and kicking the next day. If I got shot with a gun for every time I received criticism, flames, or personal attacks on an online forum (even if I deserved it), then I'd be riddled with bullet holes all over my body. But I'm still here and alive today..

Whether or not the advice given on online forums is legit and credible is another issue but it gives me yet another valuable perspective in addition to asking friends/family or reasoning it out in my mind. Honestly, some of the most valuable and helpful online advice I've ever gotten was in the form of harsh criticisms.