Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Greensboro, Winston-Salem, High Point
 [Register]
Greensboro, Winston-Salem, High Point The Triad Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-17-2013, 10:24 AM

185 posts, read 422,787 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone - I am new to the triad boards, but have been on the Charlotte forum for a few YEARS as we planned our move south. I am essentially a SAHM, and my husband is retired/pension. We have 2 children 1 middle school/1 HS. We are suburban NY'ers, but not the "loud yankees" that many native NC's can't stand. We want to blend in, live our lives and hopefully make a positive contribution to our community and new home state.

Anyway, after multiple visits, we ruled out the Triangle and Wilmington - we loved Charlotte and decided on the Waxhaw/UC/Matthews area - DONE! - Or so we thought! In the past year since we zoned in on Union Cty, I can see the trend of the area turning into another Cary - nice, corporate $$ oriented,over priced new HOA's, TONS of northerners. We are afraid! We do not want to have to move too far out to have an affordable home. Our kids will already feel isolated and we don't want to make it worse by being in some new development in the middle of nowhere. We don't want a smaller home than we live in now (2000sf) in Meck. I haven't ruled it out, but I think we might be getting priced out of Charlotte based upon our personal criteria. I saw a post SunnyKayak made mentioning the Triad favorably, so I started to follow those boards and am excited to visit! We are coming down in 3 weeks.