U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > Greenville - Spartanburg area
 [Register]
Greenville - Spartanburg area Greenville - Spartanburg - Simpsonville - Greer - Easley - Taylors - Mauldin - Duncan
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-17-2014, 01:37 PM

470 posts, read 425,296 times

Advertisements

You see something every day and your mind tends to unfocus and ignore it. No change = no new information noted = file under normal. As a life long resident I know, intellectually that Greenville and surrounding areas are undergoing changes. I've noted many major changes of note. It's the little things that you miss... the ones that don't make the headlines. Here is what I mean. Being a lifelong resident also means habitually avoiding certain areas that have been deemed unsafe, in times past.

A friend asked me to scout out a few locations to shoot photos of his newly finished hotrod. He wanted something sketchy, urban with some graffiti to contrast with the slick look of his car. I figured it would be a snap and took a drive around Greenville. I made my way down back allies, normally forgotten underpasses, industrial zones and even down in the Cripple Creek and Depot areas. I finally found an example of urban style graffiti... on a slow moving box car in the CSX switching yard.