U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > Greenville - Spartanburg area
 [Register]
Greenville - Spartanburg area Greenville - Spartanburg - Simpsonville - Greer - Easley - Taylors - Mauldin - Duncan
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-26-2014, 08:00 AM

97 posts, read 117,184 times

Advertisements

I'm a resident in Spartanburg county and lately the disguised charity donation aka panhandling has gotten too much. This is not a situation of a homeless individual holding up a sign, rather 3 to 4 adult males with orange vests going from car window to car window asking for donations.

This incident is occurring on the intersection of Reidville Rd. and East Main St/Moore Duncan Hwy ( 296 & 290). I'm sure this team goes else where to. These guys come right up to the car in the middle of the intersection to ask for money. I'm not sure what foundation they claim to be raising money for but I feel sure this is a fraud. One look in the news can tell you how bad the crime in Spartanburg County has gotten and I think this is just asking for another incident. My wife does not feel safe when they come up to the car and I'm outraged that they have not been arrested.

Is this legal to do? Has anyone else seen this? Finally, what actions can I take to put a stop to this.
Quick reply to this message

Old 06-26-2014, 09:10 AM

10,063 posts, read 19,936,869 times
Ignore them. Problem solved.

Old 06-26-2014, 12:51 PM

403 posts, read 786,065 times
This kind of thing happens everywhere. Windows up, doors locked, no problem.

Old 06-26-2014, 02:06 PM

97 posts, read 117,184 times
I"m a bit more proactive than that.