U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Hobbies and Recreation > Guns and Hunting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

View Poll Results: What's a better first gun for a beginner?
.22lr 20 64.52%
9mm 11 35.48%
Voters: 31. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-27-2015, 09:32 PM

1,204 posts, read 2,904,183 times

Advertisements

I'm starting the process of getting a gun permit. I am a complete newbie when it comes to guns. I have shot a 9 mm and a 22 once or twice. I was surprised at how much more kick a 9mm had compared to the 22, but I wasn't overwhelmed by it.

Which would be a better caliber to get as a first gun?

I was initially thinking of going with a 22lr. I could hone my skills with it and I've heard they're a lot of fun to shoot. But when I started doing research, it seems that 22lr ammo can be very difficult to find and/or the sellers jack up the price. Keep in mind I'm in MA so ordering online is not really an option.

9mm is very common and seems to have a lot more stopping power than a 22 round. With practice, it would also make me more used to dealing with recoil and adjusting the aim back to the target.

Right now, I see guns/shooting as a potentially fun hobby. I'm not preparing for the apocalypse and I don't have an major concerns about self-defense. So I don't NEED the power of a 9mm (though it is kinda fun to shoot )
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-27-2015, 09:42 PM

141 posts, read 114,444 times
Kids .22

Adults 9mm