U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Hobbies and Recreation > Guns and Hunting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-20-2016, 07:22 PM

285 posts, read 1,003,505 times

Advertisements

I would like to purchase a gun for protection in this crazy world and trying to have something to help try to protect myself. I went to a gun range for the first time awhile ago. So I am new to the gun world. Ive tried out a couple of guns yet I have no idea what were called but one and that was a glock.

My question is what are list of guns that have less recoil?

Thanks You guys!
Quick reply to this message

Old 10-20-2016, 07:30 PM

3,832 posts, read 1,636,205 times
Default Bond, James Bond

.22 caliber - but most people prefer a bigger caliber. For minimal recoil, I think they still make GyroJet weapons - expensive, though, as I recall. See 1960s Gyrojet Concept Reinvented as Less-lethal Gun | OutdoorHub

GyroJet guns are still around - but scarce ammo. See the above - a less lethal, updated version. Best of luck with it.

Old 10-20-2016, 07:34 PM

9,735 posts, read 5,412,497 times
Well, right off the bat, I would say those which are single stack.

It's not so much the recoil but the force on the body over the years. After having fired double stack for much of 16 years, I am beginning to feel it in the joints.

Caliber has a lot to do with it as well. For example, at times at the range, I'll be shooting my .308 AR-10 and using the range's Rutger .22 to pass the time as the former's barrel cools. The .22 goes ping ping ping while the -10 goes WHOMP with a recoil that is better than sex!