U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Hampton Roads area
 [Register]
Hampton Roads area Chesapeake - Hampton - Newport News - Norfolk - Portsmouth - Suffolk - Virginia Beach
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-21-2011, 07:11 PM

1,574 posts, read 1,978,161 times

Advertisements

I love Sears Homes. I've been writing about them since 1999, and have traveled all over the country learning more about them.

Based on my research, about 90% of the people living in these historically significant houses didn't realize what they had until I knocked on their door and told them.

For several years, I lived in St. Louis and in 2006, I moved back "home" to Portsmouth. And I had a lot of fun finding the kit homes here in my old stomping grounds.

Finding Sears Homes is like looking for hidden treasure. It's a lot of fun, and the discoveries are always a thrill.

To learn more about Sears Homes, click here or here.

In short, these were 12,000 piece kits, ordered right out of the pages of the Sears catalog. They were shipped by boxcar and came with a 75-page instruction book and a promise that a "man of average abilities" could have the house completed in 90 days.

In addition to Sears, there was another large company called "Aladdin" and the Hampton Roads area has many Aladdin kit homes. Like Sears, they were ordered out of a mail-order catalog and shipped by rail where a waiting homeowner would start assembling the 12,000 pieces of house.

There were six companies (like Sears and Aladdin) selling kit homes through mail order.

Enjoy the photos.

This house is in Portsmouth (downtown) in a "development" zone.