Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-05-2011, 08:19 PM

15 posts, read 41,632 times

Advertisements

I've been reading a lot about the different islands and based on what I've read Oahu and Kauai seem to have a lot of what we are looking for. I was wondering if anybody could give me some info as to how they compare. I mean I've heard that Oahu is where I should go for work (I am studying to be a paramedic) but Kauai seems so beautiful and it's nickname of "The Garden Isle" really suits it. So what are some of the differences?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-05-2011, 08:40 PM

4,918 posts, read 22,672,346 times

What's the difference between the Miami area and Key West?

Old 01-05-2011, 09:41 PM

1,707 posts, read 7,032,159 times
I live on Kauai and believe me the job opportunities are zero.

On Oahu you at least have the military which is the largest employer (and one of the best paying) in Hawaii.

Old 01-06-2011, 09:21 AM

1,178 posts, read 5,941,340 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by PharmacyMedic88 View Post
I've heard that Oahu is where I should go for work (I am studying to be a paramedic) but Kauai seems so beautiful and it's nickname of "The Garden Isle" really suits it. So what are some of the differences?
Oahu has a population of about one million, freeways, and high-rises. The job market is not good, but there is one.