Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-29-2015, 06:00 PM

6 posts, read 5,790 times

Advertisements

Hello Everyone,

So, I have been living in the cold place (Chicago) for the longest time and I do see myself moving to a warmer place. I am not planning to move to countryside, Texas, Cali, or Florida.. which are too crowded and many other problems with it.

So I thought of Hawaii. I am a IT Engineer, in my late 20s and wanted your opinion on moving to Hawaii? I love the beaches, sunsets, relaxation, etc.. Do you think I will have a tough time finding an IT job there? What would be the best place to settle in Hawaii?

What other problems/complications that I can face in moving there? Hows the crime rate? population? Job search? traffic?

Any detailed information you can provide me would help me put this whole plan together.

Thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-29-2015, 08:14 PM

12,120 posts, read 17,897,957 times
IT engineer positions are fairly plentiful on Oahu and much less so on the other islands.

If you are familiar with Bay Area salaries, figure you'll make 30-50% less with about the same cost of living. (Rent a little lower, everything else higher)

Old 11-29-2015, 10:07 PM

2,417 posts, read 3,252,336 times