U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 09-01-2008, 02:02 PM

615 posts, read 692,075 times
Default Neatest Trip for Family w/ Children

Hi Everyone,

I'm a writer for an upper end mom magazine in California. Do you have any suggestions -- on any island -- for a really neat experience for families? Something that every magazine hasn't already featured. Something really neat but not well known.

Second Question: do you know of an "all inclusive" vacation in the islands? Sort of like Sandals or Beaches where you pay once and everything but drinks is included?

Thank you so much. I really appreciate it!

Alicia
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-01-2008, 05:45 PM

683 posts, read 1,666,145 times
The best thing I've done, by far, was Dolphin Journeys on the Big Island. Check them out at Swim with dolphins, whale watching - Kailua-Kona Hawaii.

Basically, Nancy (owner, captain, whatever) knows where the dolphins like to hang out. So you hop on her boat in the morning, bop in and out of coves listening to cool stories and enjoying the sea. When she finds some dolphins, you get dumped into the water with snorkeling gear and get to swim with them. If they take off, she won't give chase. It's up to the dolphins if they want to play or not. In the winter, you'll also see whales while you're out there (which is pretty amazing, seeing them from a tiny little boat).