U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-08-2012, 06:27 PM

Location: A circle of Hell so insidious, infernal and odious, Dante dared not map it
623 posts, read 621,481 times

Advertisements

Hi all,
I've been smoking since 1998 and I would like to quit. I've set a date for June 21 or 22, but I have some questions for those who have successfully done that.

First, a little background:

The last time I tried to quit was 2005, but obviously it didn't go over so well. At that time, I tried to begin by reducing how much I smoked, and would only have a couple before work and wouldn't touch one until after work (roughly ten hours.) However, while at work I would start to get foggy in the head, then would get incredibly impatient and irritable. I also lost my job in 2010 and was unemployed up until a few months ago. I do have problems with anxiety, and while I was unemployed my doctor actually recommended that I don't quit smoking until I reached stability. Anyway, I think I've been able to get those problems mostly under control since finding employment. Currently, I smoke about 15 a day, which is actually less than what I was smoking.

Now, here are my questions:

My old plan didn't work, so now I want to try an aid. More specifically, I think the gum would work best for me. Has anyone had success with this, or with a particular brand of it? I do anticipate the occasional "slip up" and I'm wondering how bad it is to smoke while on that regimen.