U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-12-2018, 12:05 PM

747 posts, read 437,420 times

Advertisements

When I bend my arms very fast I get this intense sharp pain at the joint area. The elbow (either one) will then be sore and I won't be able to lift anything heavy for a few days until the elbow joint fully heals.
I have been practicing combative full contact sport for several years for fun not professionally. I thought this was the cause of my elbow joint pain due to constant punches and kicks blocking using my arms and elbows. But a friend mentioned I may be experiencing ulnar nerve pain since that I sit at a desk all day for work.

I do want to see a doctor or a professional physician but not sure what kind.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-12-2018, 12:08 PM

16,180 posts, read 7,101,807 times
Sounds to me like you might have tennis elbow. I got mine from typing and knitting.

Just about any family practice doctor can diagnose this, and can advise some self-treatment options.

But if you don't already have a primary physician, given your pastime, I'd look for one that specializes in sports medicine.

Old 01-12-2018, 12:10 PM

18,807 posts, read 6,149,026 times
Hard to say, sounds like you are putting your elbows thru the mill with the contact sport. Maybe ease off the sport. I am old and no combat sports, but when I will lean against desk with elbows I get pain. I avoid that leaning on desk.

Old 01-12-2018, 01:12 PM

3,694 posts, read 2,839,253 times