U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-10-2009, 05:19 PM

594 posts, read 884,898 times

Advertisements

I have always used my contact lenses much longer than I had to wear. For example, I have Acuvue Oasys that I suppose to wear for up to two weeks, I've been wearing them for almost 5 months now.
But I always clean them and use solution. Nothing happens anyway, they just lie to us so we waste money on buying them.
I also had one daily lenses that I wore for 3 months.

Have you/are you doing the same?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-10-2009, 06:29 PM

12,975 posts, read 2,808,699 times
YES! I NEVER dispose of my contacts until they either rip or become uncomfortable. I figure if they are disinfected each night, there is no real risk. I can't afford to replace as frequently as they recommend. Also, years ago, I wore extended wear contacts until they stopped making them. I never had problems.

Old 12-10-2009, 08:54 PM

25,556 posts, read 23,635,790 times
Yes but unfortunately not by choice. I know we're supposed to change them out every couple of weeks but I wear mine for several mos before changing them. I'm still wearing the last of the box from July of last year. But come Feb I'm going in for a exam and will get new ones.

Old 12-11-2009, 07:55 AM

594 posts, read 884,898 times
So I'm not the only one
As long as we disinfect them every night, we could wear them for several months.