U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Hobbies and Recreation
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-05-2010, 09:17 AM

431 posts, read 2,119,754 times
Default Need suggestions for a new social hobby where I can meet new people

I'm new to my area and am looking to meet more people. I'd like to find a hobby that I can do in a group setting--something social, that meets once a week or so, where you're with the same people every time. For example, I would think that a martial art would be the perfect social hobby--meet once a week, do something in a team setting, lots of time for getting to know people. However, I've tried martial arts before and I didn't like it.

I'd love to find a hobby where I can build a skill in something--the martial arts idea was again appealing because you can advance in this sport and build skills.

I'd love to hear suggestions for social hobbies I can get involved in.

I'm a married woman in my early 30's. I'd really love to meet other gals in their 20's and 30's.

I'm very un-athletic, so any kind of sports team is definitely out. I'm also not musical and have never played an instrument (despite my username), though the idea of being in a band is appealing--so I'm looking for something that's similar to that.

Here are the ideas I have, but they really don't inspire me:

1. Knitting/crochet circle
2. Language class--I like this idea but don't really have the time to put into learning a new language
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-05-2010, 11:05 AM