U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports > Hockey
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Old 04-03-2011, 10:18 AM
201 posts, read 357,885 times
Reputation: 229


Last night at the game, the visitors were down by 1 goal and pulled the goalie. The home team then had a breakaway, but he did not shot he skated almost all the way to the goal before he was practically tackled from behind. The puck was never in the net. The ref made a penalty shot sign. But then they just went to center ice and had a faceoff after awarding the home team with a goal. I guess that was right but it sure seams funny to get a goal without ever having a puck in the net. Anyone seen this before?
Quick reply to this message

Old 04-03-2011, 11:21 PM
Location: Lethbridge, AB
1,132 posts, read 1,510,123 times
Reputation: 973
I've never seen it happen before, but it is the correct ruling (assuming the penalty shot call was legit). They just did away with the formality of a penalty shot on an empty net.
Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 10:19 AM
201 posts, read 357,885 times
Reputation: 229
Thanks Stubble, I didn't say the teams but you being in Lethbridge would know the teams. It was Spokane VS Chilliwack, game 5. They never explained to the crowd, I just assumed that was the rule.
Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 07:58 PM
1,951 posts, read 3,583,671 times
Reputation: 1072
It's rare but it happens in all leagues including NHL where if there is a breakaway on a empty net and the offensive player is fouled or a stick is thrown at the player, the referee has the authority to award a goal.
Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2011, 07:15 AM
30,913 posts, read 35,147,980 times
Reputation: 25570
Even with an empty net penalty shot i'd at least want the shot taken and not just awarded to the team. as remote as it might seem the shooter could actually miss the net on his penalty shot.
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2011, 08:28 AM
Location: Victoria TX
42,672 posts, read 66,951,356 times
Reputation: 35539
There was a similar incident in a game last night, when a team wanted a goal counted when there was interference on a player who had an empty net to shoot for.

Apparently the rule is that, if the net is empty, and a penalty shot would have otherwise been awarded, the goal is simply awarded. There is no point in exercising the formality of the penalty shot, when the net is empty, and the defensive team logically would have no right to call a goalie back out on the ice to defend against a penalty shot, when there was no goalie at the time of the foul.
Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.

Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports > Hockey
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2017, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 - Top