U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive > Brand-specific forums > Honda and Acura
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-11-2012, 06:35 PM

527 posts, read 1,843,230 times

Advertisements

I have a Honda Accord 1999 EX that i bought few months back. Suddenly a problem has cropped up.
The driver's side door does not lock / unlock when i press the remote buttons, nor when i press the buttons on the door, inside the car. Rest of the doors lock and unlock normally but not this one door.
I am a total car amateur so i am not well informed about car issues.
What may be the probable issue and what it may take to repair it?

Those car repair shops like Firestone etc will charge a lot just to check the door.
Being an amateur in this, what can i do to troubleshoot ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-11-2012, 06:46 PM

11,256 posts, read 43,191,290 times
Being an amateur isn't a good qualification to troubleshoot this problem.

There's a lot of potential areas that can be the causation, and you'll need the wiring diagram and the troubleshooting diagnostic tree information to make a meaningful assessment of the problem as well as the repair(s) needed.

This is one of those tasks best left to a professional with the appropriate tools and service information.

Old 01-11-2012, 07:20 PM

1,617 posts, read 4,690,007 times
It's not the whole car that's having a problem, it's just the door, a subsystem of the larger machine. If you're handy and mechanically inclined, the overall process is not much different from troubleshooting a vacuum cleaner or clothes dryer.