U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-08-2011, 12:10 AM

2,616 posts, read 2,276,000 times

Advertisements

I've only used my dishwasher for 2-mos, 3-times/wk. This is my first time using one (mostly rented old apts which didn't have them), so I have no idea what's usual maintenance.

From about the 2nd week, it began to smell of sour milk each time I opened the door... it's so strong now, it almost makes me wretch.

I searched online to find several solutions (didn't find one on this site, unless I missed it):

* Run a wash cycle with lemonaide
* Run a wash cycle with Tang (I'm guessing the orange might stain the white interior, however?)
* Place a cup of vinegar upright inside the dw & run a wash cycle
* Pour vinegar, lemon juice, borax OR bleach (not all together, but separately) into the compartments which snap closed & run a wash cycle
* Put your regular soap pellet/liquid into the compartment & run the hottest, longest wash cycle
* Someone said it's egg remnants which cause the smell & if they pre-wash eggy dishes, it doesn't happen... I don't think that's the issue for me

Before I do all of those... I'd just begin with the easiest/cheapest & work my way down the list for something which worked, has anyone dealt with this & have a sure fire solution?

If this helps, I use Finish gelpacs.

Also, am I supposed to run an empty dw (with soap or one of the ingredients listed above) once per wk/mo as normal maintenance?

Thank you very much!