Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-30-2015, 05:53 PM

6 posts, read 5,405 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone, this is going to be my first post and i apologize if im not following rules or ethics with posting here!
Soooooo on to my question/story. I live in Northwest florida, and i am a certified carpenter. ive taken the classes at a technical college. (yall probably think that was a waste)
......My mom has been trying to buy a home since i was at least in the 7th grade,(we were renting a home since then, up until last year.) The house we were renting was a 1914 Foursquare. Completely generic old house with 0 updates in the last 5 decades except for a roof. It's Perttyy ugly. BUt it has sentimental value and we kind of count it as our childhood home. It's for sale now, and my mom wants to by it and fix it up etc. the county website says it is assessed at $28,000(and i dont know when this assessment was done, but it has to be very old because the house is in very bad shape), but its listed for $59,900. its not liveable, fuses go out all the time, the plumbing is crap, theres no heating and cooling etc. also, I've been exposed to real estate and everything that goes along with it since i was in elementary school, i know the market around my town and know that this price will not sell it unless its dropped SIGNIFICANTLY. The house is 1,914 sq. feet aprox. has 12 foot ceilings, 3 bedrooms, 2 baths. the electrical is knob and tube, it needs new plumbing, the house needs leveling, etc.