U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-05-2016, 02:52 PM

18,011 posts, read 22,774,659 times

Advertisements

Would appreciate the advice of you woodworkers out there. I am just getting into using power tools (small ones LOL) and learning how to work with wood. I don't know if you'll remember the project I talked about doing a while back - turning an old dresser into a workbench - well, I actually have finally done it.

I live in a super tiny studio, so need to get the most out of the furniture I have, so now my dresser also doubles as my workbench. I'm actually really happy with how it turned out.

The other day, I added a plywood top to make a work space on top of the dresser that I could abuse and it gives me a better and larger surface to work on. I just attached it to the back piece, so I can dismantle the whole thing without it wrecking the original dresser. There are only screws into the back of the dresser. I used "L" brackets to attach the new top work space to the back upright piece. I was able to use the same piece of good, hardwood plywood (expensive!) for both the back piece and the new top work surface.

Anyway, now I have an unfinished (other than sanded ) wooden surface to work on. My question is, should I treat it in any way? I really don't care much if it gets stained, etc., as I expect that will end up happening regardless and I really don't want to have to worry about it.