U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Unread 09-12-2011, 11:19 AM

23 posts, read 10,750 times
Exclamation is the HOUSING MARKET too risky to invest?

Hello to all,

I'm a 20 something young professional, and a renter. Upon realizing that I'm just throwing away my money on renting, I'm seriously considering buying my first home/condo/townhouse soon (like April 2012 when my lease expires) as a primary home initially and a future rental property.

I need advice on whether this will be a good time to buy or not and the best areas in the city that are getting steady appreciation on housing values?

It's my understanding that parts of 3rd ward is going through some changes, and there's some properties popping up that might be interesting...

Any advise from amateurs, homeowners, realtors or home investors?

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Unread 09-12-2011, 11:24 AM

548 posts, read 330,618 times
Depends. Sunny, warm retirement areas should appreciate for the next 5 to 15 years. After that is anybody's guess.

The cold and rust belt, well, I personally would not drop a dime there. The rest of the country, might just run flat for a while - little or no value increase.

Unread 09-12-2011, 11:32 AM

548 posts, read 330,618 times
As for as Houston, it's a tough call with the lack of zoning laws. I lived in the NW area for several years. Neighborhoods seems to change overnight in regards to home values.

Unread 09-12-2011, 11:59 AM