Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-09-2018, 11:56 AM

4,147 posts, read 2,962,502 times

Advertisements

I am currently a third-year Electrical Engineering major at UC Davis, and a lifelong Southern Californian. Very eager to move to Houston or Florida after graduation. Despite the Silicon Valley boom, I am looking for somewhere cheaper and more conservative than California.

A couple of questions:

1. Is it difficult to find a job in Houston if my degree is from a university in California? I am taking the control systems/signal processing specialization.
2. How is the job market for electrical engineers? Is there a large defense industry like there is in Huntsville? Are there numerous telecommunications companies like there are in Dallas? Obviously there is Johnson Space Center, but I'm curious about the private sector.

I've only heard great things about Houston. I spent 10 weeks last summer in New Orleans and Biloxi and I loved the hot, humid weather (believe me, Sacramento summers are far more brutal, dry, and ugly than anything in New Orleans) and the scenery was more beautiful than anything I'd ever seen. I'm sure Houston will be just the same, climate and scenery-wise. I'm also ultra-conservative (for California, which is like saying you're ultra-conservative for Canada) and a devout evangelical (Southern Baptist more or less), so I'm sure I'll fit in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-10-2018, 06:11 AM

318 posts, read 337,710 times