U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-27-2018, 12:44 PM

107 posts, read 85,783 times

Advertisements

I am very interested in moving to Houston or Dallas from Atlanta. I Really like Dallas, but I'm a little frightened about living in tornado alley. I have nightmares about tornados, LOL. I also like Houston but I have a little concern about the crime. I have been monitoring the news in both cities for a few months and Houston news is a little crazy and very similar to the crazy news here in Atlanta, which are random violence, robberies, and shootings. Dallas news seems a little mild in comparison. The crime in Atlanta and Dallas seems to mainly happen in certain areas but it seems scattered throughout the city of Houston. What's the deal? Am I reading too much into the news?

Last edited by OceanViewer; 06-27-2018 at 12:53 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-27-2018, 01:22 PM

769 posts, read 448,156 times
Why're you scared of tornadoes but not hurricanes?

Old 06-27-2018, 01:44 PM

955 posts, read 814,678 times
Yes.

Old 06-27-2018, 01:46 PM

121 posts, read 40,372 times
Dallas is A bit bland.

It's like vanilla ice cream. It's good at first but then it gets old.

It has a boring prerie landscape.

Hardly any trees. You say you're from ATL so that's gonna be a shock.

Houston is full of trees. You got uptown midtown with big trees. midtown neighborhoods are freaking awesome. Lined up with intresting looking trees.

Houston is rich in culture. Something Dallas lacks.