U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-28-2008, 04:35 PM

3 posts, read 14,579 times

Advertisements

i'm new to texas, Houston to be precise and i was wondering how much i can expect to pay in fees and penalties if i don't register my car with in 30 days? and will anyone really be looking for that? not sure if anyone would know this but if you do please enlighten me! O_O
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-28-2008, 05:11 PM

2,076 posts, read 2,546,974 times
I know people who waited a year before registering their cars in Texas and never had a problem. You should check with your insurance provider on their rules regarding moving to a different state or filing claims in a different state.

Old 10-28-2008, 05:46 PM

9,791 posts, read 24,396,696 times
You can always say your visiting as long as your DL matches your Ins. card and registration. It so cheap to register a car, why wait? We moved from Ca. and were able to register 4 cars for less than the price of 1 in Ca.! Just go to any place that does inspections...pay the $30 or so and then head on down to your closest court house. Doesn't take long and is relatively painless!

Old 10-28-2008, 06:58 PM

10,427 posts, read 29,987,000 times
Shelby is right. Why wait? Texas insurance is so cheap that by changing you are saving money right away. Registration is much cheaper then most states too.