U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-11-2009, 09:31 PM

9,608 posts, read 8,940,402 times
Default This bothers me

This may not even be a "Houston" topic per se, but it is occurring in Houston. As many of you know, I am a teacher looking for a job who currently works as a general handyman for many of the retailers. I was at a Victoria's Secret (we get a lot of work from them) when I started to talk to some of the girls. My pay is pretty lousy, but not the worst. They were telling me that Victoria's Secret starts out at 7.25. Also, I was told this is common at most of the high end retailers around Houston. Am I the only one bothered by the fact that a high end retailer such as Victoria's Secret pays their employees minimum wage? For what they charge for their clothing, it almost seems criminal to me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-11-2009, 09:32 PM

11,206 posts, read 16,541,954 times
One for you, 19 for me...

Old 10-11-2009, 09:33 PM

Damned rep rules. Sorry, this is the best I can do

Old 10-11-2009, 10:07 PM
hsw

2,066 posts, read 4,074,428 times
Maybe, maybe not

Realize that retail (even high-end) is a crappy business in terms of profit margins (vs industries like energy or tech or finance or pharma/med tech/biotech)