U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Indiana
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-25-2010, 06:42 PM

2 posts, read 7,042 times

Advertisements

I've looked around the internet but can't seem to find an answer to my question. I was laid off of work roughly a month ago. I'm a graphic designer and I am searching for a full-time job, but I also am working on a freelance project in the $2500 range. I do not get paid until the job is complete and even then I don't know exactly when I will be paid for it. I go to file for unemployment this week via the online form for the first time and I'm confused as what to do. I worked on the freelance job this entire week and it is not finished, I'm charging a flat rate for the project, not by the hour. So I did work this week, but obviously didn't make any money that I can put in the bank. On the form they ask if you work and when you put yes they ask how much you made for the week even if you haven't been payed. To me that seems like a short term contract type employment for some employer, and not like my situation. Do I have to say I did any work since I'm not charging by the hour and don't actually know when I'll get paid for it. I could do a rough estimate of how much I earned based on the work in that week, but again since I'm charging a flat rate it would just be a guess. I'm wondering if they are going to freak out and rake me over the coals if I suddenly report $2500 one week when I finally do get paid for it, whenever that will be. I guess in my mind I would collect unemployment during the weeks I'm not actually getting paid, then whatever week I finally do ge