U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Indiana
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 09-04-2008, 08:31 AM

376 posts, read 805,889 times
Default Columbus Indiana- Jobs, Rental Homes & Schools?

Good Morning All

As the bi-line next to my name says, I am a resident of Greencastle, Indiana. Over the last couple of years we have been looking at relocating. Most recently we have been looking at the Deep South and it is very appealing, but the cost of living is kinda . Especially considering that hubby will be in school for at least two years and I will be doing the bulk of supporting our household.

In the course of researching schools that have my husband's choice of degree, Ivy Tech Columbus came up. We had considered Columbus early in our relocation discussions but it had kind of fallen by the wayside. Now it appears to be coming back to the top so I'm asking questions {hubby is in Iraq with the 76th so the research is falling to me}

1. What is the job market like? I go to Columbus about once a month for military related meetings and it seems like there has been a lot of retail and hospitality related job growth. I am a massage therapist by trade, but have an extensive history in retail/hospitality fields. I would be looking to earn enough to cover basic expenses and provide insurance for myself and the girls. My husband has his mind set on working part-time while he's in school but we shall see. I would prefer him to study and focus on his coursework, as that's what he did for me while I was in school.