U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Veterans Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 07-11-2010, 09:07 PM
 
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
1,917 posts, read 6,502,132 times
Reputation: 1966

Advertisements

My hubby, in an effort to make my computer faster, deinstalled everything and reinstalled XP. But now I can't connect to the internet. I am running a DSL with the wireless router connected directly to this computer. I have a laptop which picks up the signal just fine. My son's PC picks up the internet just fine. It's just this other one with XP!! In fact when I unplug my son's ethernet cable and plug it into the XP one thinking, no problem right, it should connect...well no dice!!
What are we doing wrong?

It just says page cannot be displayed.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-11-2010, 11:29 PM
 
Location: Houston, TX
2,375 posts, read 5,423,095 times
Reputation: 6227
Did you reinstall the modem software on your computer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-12-2010, 06:31 AM
 
10,752 posts, read 17,997,204 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by molochai2580 View Post
Did you reinstall the modem software on your computer?
There is no modem software that needs to be installed.

To the OP, make/model of computer? How was XP reinstalled? Were drivers properly installed after the XP installation?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-12-2010, 09:39 AM
 
3,743 posts, read 11,462,492 times
Reputation: 2754
Go to Start->'Run...' and when the window pops up, type 'cmd' and hit Enter. A new window will pop up, and type 'ipconfig' and hit Enter.

You will see some stuff pop up. Basically it will show you all the connection capabilities in the computer and you should see something like "Ethernet adapter" for wireless and LAN (cable). What kind of info do you see there? Do you see some numbers or anything like "media disconnected"?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-12-2010, 11:31 AM
 
Location: Somewhere in northern Alabama
18,500 posts, read 55,418,079 times
Reputation: 32169
DHCP conflict. Do the windows help routine on how to set up a static IP address. The router should be 192.168.0.1 and you want the computer to be 192.168.0.20 (or any other non-used number)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-12-2010, 12:51 PM
 
16,308 posts, read 25,256,087 times
Reputation: 8302
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry chickpea View Post
DHCP conflict. Do the windows help routine on how to set up a static IP address. The router should be 192.168.0.1 and you want the computer to be 192.168.0.20 (or any other non-used number)
NO! DHCP uses ping to confirm that duplicate addresses are not handed out. And if a duplicate address is manually configured, XP would popup a duplicate IP address exists on the network
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-12-2010, 01:29 PM
 
10,752 posts, read 17,997,204 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry chickpea View Post
DHCP conflict. Do the windows help routine on how to set up a static IP address. The router should be 192.168.0.1 and you want the computer to be 192.168.0.20 (or any other non-used number)
What?? Where are you coming up with this stuff?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-12-2010, 03:25 PM
 
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
1,917 posts, read 6,502,132 times
Reputation: 1966
Well I did some kind of troubleshooting on the computer (an old Dell) and it says Ethernet Adapter XXXX Failed" So I'm guessing there's a problem with the ethernet adapter. But strangely when my DH installed Vista it picked the internet right up. But then he took Vista off and put in XP again and it's doing this. He stayed up all night messing with it. He is going to put Vista back on and see if that solves the problem. If it does then we'll just keep Vista in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-12-2010, 03:41 PM
 
10,752 posts, read 17,997,204 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTR36 View Post
Well I did some kind of troubleshooting on the computer (an old Dell) and it says Ethernet Adapter XXXX Failed" So I'm guessing there's a problem with the ethernet adapter. But strangely when my DH installed Vista it picked the internet right up. But then he took Vista off and put in XP again and it's doing this. He stayed up all night messing with it. He is going to put Vista back on and see if that solves the problem. If it does then we'll just keep Vista in.
XP does not have drivers for newer hardware, as I said drivers may need to be installed for audio, video, and the network card before they will work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-13-2010, 12:24 PM
 
Location: Somewhere in northern Alabama
18,500 posts, read 55,418,079 times
Reputation: 32169
<chuckle> Yeah, whatever. I'll have to tell that to all the people who I switched to static addresses and had mysterious networking problems disappear. Sometimes what is in the book isn't exactly right. It isn't worth getting in a dispute over though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:20 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top