U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Veterans Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 08-01-2010, 03:45 PM
 
Location: Lake Norman, NC
7,251 posts, read 11,387,407 times
Reputation: 30930

Advertisements

OK I am stumped!!!

I run Windows XP home. When I open up a window of Internet Explorer, it will not load my homepage (MyYahoo). Instead, I get an error message "Internet Explorer Cannot Display the WebPage". I get the same message on every website I try to access EXCEPT City-Data.com. This is the only website that will load on my pc. Even Google won't load.

I have spent the day running SpyBot, AdAware, Malwarebytes, Norton, emptying the cache, restarting the modem, and rebooting the computer.

Yep, I am stumped! Anyone have any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-01-2010, 06:22 PM
 
10,752 posts, read 17,997,204 times
Reputation: 10244
Just a quick suggestion, go to control panel > internet options, then select the connections tab, then the LAN settings button, make sure ALL boxes are unchecked.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2010, 08:24 PM
 
Location: Lake Norman, NC
7,251 posts, read 11,387,407 times
Reputation: 30930
Well, I went through everything one more time (LAN choices were OK, NHDave) and I dumped the cache again. This time it seems to have worked! I am back running properly. I have no idea what it could have been. Hmmm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-03-2010, 12:00 PM
 
28,595 posts, read 40,577,263 times
Reputation: 37216
City Data has used your PC as a test in their bid to take over the internet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-03-2010, 06:48 PM
 
Location: Matthews, NC
14,693 posts, read 23,391,206 times
Reputation: 14342
This issue occurs when your cache is full. Clearing it out was what fixed it and is a good standard maintenance practice. I recommend using CCleaner which may be downloaded at CCleaner - Optimization and Cleaning - Free Download. You can configure it to keep certain cookies so that you don't lose user name/password details that have been cached. In addition, it will clear out temp files from other programs as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top