Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-15-2011, 09:13 AM

11,276 posts, read 19,532,703 times

Advertisements

At what must be heavy use times Firefox starts hanging me. The page freezes and I get (not responding). It drives me insane.

I know its FF, not my computer and not my ISP because if I switch to chrome I don't have the problem. But chrome is, in general, so inferior I hate to use it.

Is there any solution to this problem other than staying off the computer or not using FF?

I am not tech savvy so please keep any advice or instructions simple.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-15-2011, 12:54 PM

7,138 posts, read 11,017,339 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by catsmom21 View Post
At what must be heavy use times Firefox starts hanging me. The page freezes and I get (not responding). It drives me insane.

I know its FF, not my computer and not my ISP because if I switch to chrome I don't have the problem. But chrome is, in general, so inferior I hate to use it.

Is there any solution to this problem other than staying off the computer or not using FF?

I am not tech savvy so please keep any advice or instructions simple.
I don't really understand you logic that Chrome doesn't have a problem that Firefox does, but its inferior. Normally "problem" = inferior. Just sayin.

Anyways, have you considered trying Firefox 4. The reviews sound pretty good. Maybe it might solve some of your problems.

Mozilla | Firefox web browser & Thunderbird email client

Old 04-15-2011, 12:58 PM