U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-14-2011, 09:40 PM

11,155 posts, read 14,424,555 times

Advertisements

I have been using Google since 2002 and no other search engine, with great loyalty. After I saw that Bing had eaten some of Google's market share and is now used by 17% of internet users for searching the web, I had to do an experiment and see for myself. Here is the outline of the experiment I ran:

Purpose: To determine which search engine yields better quality results soonest in the results list.

Procedure: First, delete and disable cookies and history to prevent any tracking that my occur. Then, select five search topics to be searched in both Google and Bing. For each search engine's results, select the link that most provides what you are looking for (this may require checking other links) and record its position in the list (i.e., if it's the first one in the list, mark "1" in the result column). In addition, rate the quality of the webpage you selected as the best result of the search (-1 = bad, 0 = okay, 1 = good). Here were my results (recorded in Excel):

As you can see, 4 out of the 5 searches, Bing gave me my favorite webpage in the top of the results list upon searching! Only once, it failed miserably, with the "home workout routines" topic.