U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-18-2014, 08:57 PM
 
1,265 posts, read 2,274,706 times
Reputation: 384

Advertisements

Lately when on the internet and go to different sites, i get the message http://lockedcustomer.comcast.net/ in the browswer (google chrome). I wait about 5 minutes and i am able to browse again. If I go to IE, it say this page can't be displayed.

I call Comcast and they say my internet connection is fine.

Any reason why I am getting intermitted connection http://lockedcustomer.comcast.net/

Thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-19-2014, 09:16 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,815 posts, read 13,959,030 times
Reputation: 8049
Comcast is unable to tell you?
Do you download Torrents or anything like that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-19-2014, 04:51 PM
 
10,752 posts, read 18,003,358 times
Reputation: 10244
Comcast is redirecting your browser there for some reason, only they will (or will not) know why, likely a bug in their system if your account is paid up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-20-2014, 06:04 AM
 
26,158 posts, read 15,737,854 times
Reputation: 17235
What does the page say when you get sent to it??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-20-2014, 08:54 AM
 
1,265 posts, read 2,274,706 times
Reputation: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Comcast is unable to tell you?
Do you download Torrents or anything like that?
Thank you for responding.

No we don't download music or movies. I will ask the kid again.

If my computer is directly plugged to the Comcast router, this dies not happen and everything runs fine.

It only happens on the laptops connected to my wireless Netgear router. Yesterday I rebooted the router. But didn't get a chance to test if that message comes up again. I will test today and report back here the findings.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-20-2014, 08:57 AM
 
10,752 posts, read 18,003,358 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrell2525 View Post
Thank you for responding.

No we don't download music or movies. I will ask the kid again.

If my computer is directly plugged to the Comcast router, this dies not happen and everything runs fine.

It only happens on the laptops connected to my wireless Netgear router. Yesterday I rebooted the router. But didn't get a chance to test if that message comes up again. I will test today and report back here the findings.
Also check and see if a firmware update is available for your router. Do you have just a standard cable modem or one of Comcasts Gateways that does phone and wi-fi as well?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-20-2014, 08:57 AM
 
1,265 posts, read 2,274,706 times
Reputation: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
What does the page say when you get sent to it??
It's just a blank page. Sometimes it redirect me to another page that says Your Comcast Services Has Been Terminated.
But most of the time it's just a blank page with lockedcustomer.comcast.net.


I do have Norton Antivirus.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-20-2014, 09:30 AM
 
1,265 posts, read 2,274,706 times
Reputation: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
Also check and see if a firmware update is available for your router. Do you have just a standard cable modem or one of Comcasts Gateways that does phone and wi-fi as well?
Thanks

I have Comcast Gateway that does phone and wi-fi. I will check the firmware as well and let you know if that fixes it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-20-2014, 09:37 AM
 
10,752 posts, read 18,003,358 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrell2525 View Post
Thanks

I have Comcast Gateway that does phone and wi-fi. I will check the firmware as well and let you know if that fixes it.
Ok, so my next question, did you have Comcast put your gateway in full bridge mode when you installed the Netgear router? This disables the gateways router and wi-fi so your own router will work properly. If it's not done correctly you would be using double NAT, which is a bad thing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-20-2014, 02:09 PM
 
1,265 posts, read 2,274,706 times
Reputation: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
Ok, so my next question, did you have Comcast put your gateway in full bridge mode when you installed the Netgear router? This disables the gateways router and wi-fi so your own router will work properly. If it's not done correctly you would be using double NAT, which is a bad thing.
Yes, they performed the bridge mode. I rebooted the router last night and have yet to see of this will fix it. I will report back what I found.

Thanks for help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top