U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 08-31-2014, 06:26 PM
 
245 posts, read 320,186 times
Reputation: 368

Advertisements

My bandwidth meter from my cable provider has not been accurate in well over a month,it shows very little use when I have been downloading movies on ITunes,and using netflix,Youtube. I'm going to give it another billing cycle before I call and ask them about it. I was thinking maybe unplugging my cable modem for a few minutes might reset the meter and get the meter to start working again. Has this happened to anyone else what did you do to fix it? It has happened to me before but worked again when they next cycle started.
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-01-2014, 03:06 PM
 
245 posts, read 320,186 times
Reputation: 368
I guess a better way of asking this is would unplugging the modem of a few minutes maybe reset the meter?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-01-2014, 04:54 PM
 
Location: Tyler, TX
15,209 posts, read 18,490,079 times
Reputation: 8052
I'm curious as to why you would care, and why you're concerned that it shows less usage than it should. Most people would only care if it was showing an overage.

If you're technically inclined at all, you could configure an old, retired PC with linux to use as your router, and you could track your bandwidth usage yourself. You could also setup a proxy server on it, which would help cut your bandwidth usage down a bit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-01-2014, 05:29 PM
 
245 posts, read 320,186 times
Reputation: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by swagger View Post
I'm curious as to why you would care, and why you're concerned that it shows less usage than it should. Most people would only care if it was showing an overage.

If you're technically inclined at all, you could configure an old, retired PC with linux to use as your router, and you could track your bandwidth usage yourself. You could also setup a proxy server on it, which would help cut your bandwidth usage down a bit.
I'm curious because my cable company still charges for overages regardless of what the meter on the account shows, they know somehow from their offices regardless of what it shows on your acct when you log in. THAT'S why I care. Also it doesn't matter what the meter I use on my own shows, it matters what cable company meter shows.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top