Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-13-2014, 02:32 AM

2,271 posts, read 2,649,327 times

Advertisements

First, please forgive me if this post comes across as though I'm frustrated and grumpy. It's just that I am. And I'm usually not.

Second, let me say upfront that I'm NOT very tech savvy. I don't understand the lingo for things like POP, IMAP or other kinds of email interfaces. I'm not an idiot, I just tend to live very simply and technology isn't my thing.

I have three Hotmail email accounts that I use for different purposes. Lately, they've asked for verification in the form of codes. Fine. I complied. (Because they're not getting my phone number.) But they KEEP asking for the codes over and over again, even after I've verified them already.

Frankly, they can go to hell. I've reached my patience limit (and believe me, it's very high to begin with) and I want a new email provider.

I've been researching this for the last hour and it's frustrating because I don't know what to believe or who to trust, since this isn't really my thing. I'd appreciate some "real time" input instead of outdated articles that are years old! One blog post says Mail dot com is wonderful and the next one says it's the worst email provider ever. No provider seems to have a common consensus.