U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-16-2014, 08:49 AM
 
Location: HoCo, MD
4,584 posts, read 8,194,016 times
Reputation: 5123

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Well sometimes my IP stays the same for months and I know sometimes I am offline when the lease expires (And sometimes I manually renew the lease and @ next bootup the IP is the same)


I guess I dont understand!
Offline for how long? Typically you would automatically renew at half way. So if your ISP has setup your lease for 2 days, you would likely renew every 24 hours. If you happen to just be offline for 1 day, it probably won't matter. And a manual renew will be addressed right away. A reboot will just cause another DHCP request. And if your lease is not expired (or effectively released), you'll get the same IP.

More info: The TCP/IP Guide - TCP/IP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP)

Having the same IP is normally what people want...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-16-2014, 09:59 PM
 
Location: Sarasota FL
6,865 posts, read 9,541,343 times
Reputation: 6592
Go to whatismyipaddress. It will explain the difference between static and dynamic IP address, when you keep the same and when/why it changes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-17-2014, 10:49 AM
 
26,158 posts, read 15,737,854 times
Reputation: 17235
Yup it is..... I unplug it after every session........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-17-2014, 10:57 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,815 posts, read 13,959,030 times
Reputation: 8049
Why?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 03:34 PM
 
Location: france
706 posts, read 398,283 times
Reputation: 680
how can i know my ip adress?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 05:10 PM
 
26,158 posts, read 15,737,854 times
Reputation: 17235
www.whatismyip.info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 08:34 PM
 
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
735 posts, read 751,016 times
Reputation: 928
If the subscription is for dynamically assigned IP addresses, the IP address can change and you shouldn't expect it to always be the same. If it's a static IP address, then you can expect it not to change.

Here at home I only have DSL with a subscription for dynamically assigned IP addresses, but for years the IP address stayed the same as if it were a static IP subscription... until recently.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-26-2014, 03:43 PM
 
10 posts, read 5,996 times
Reputation: 22
For most users, IP address is dynamically assigned and will change from time to time. Static IP address subscription costs a little more.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-26-2014, 06:51 PM
 
287 posts, read 418,303 times
Reputation: 681
Your router is most likely configured for DHCP. DHCP is a connection protocol where the server (your ISP) dynamically assigns an IP address from a set range of numbers. Your router has a "lease cycle"; this is where you receive an IP address, use the IP address, and either release or renew the address. Your router may not have a set time limit for the cycle, so in that case, your IP address would not change assuming that the router is not restarted or power-cycled. A lot of ISPs don't provide static IPs to residential customers, so you'd need a business account for that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-20-2015, 05:36 PM
 
981 posts, read 2,034,428 times
Reputation: 1412
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigAndrew View Post
if someone gets a modem which is also a router, will the IP address change?
Comcast (an ISP many are familiar with) changes your WAN IP based on the MAC address of your router, which can be quickly tested. Reverting back to the original router will usually restore its old IP address, until Comcast changes it at random.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top