U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-20-2015, 09:52 PM
 
26,158 posts, read 15,737,854 times
Reputation: 17235

Advertisements

On my ISP sometimes I notice they dont change them for months at a time!!!!

I have had the same IP for 4,5 months!! (A staff member can verify my findings)

I always unplug my modem after im done so thats how I know the IP truly is not being rotated........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-21-2015, 08:49 PM
 
1,080 posts, read 829,504 times
Reputation: 627
of the OP is worried about there IP addy showing up. they might want to consider a vpn!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-26-2017, 02:57 AM
 
Location: Colorado
118 posts, read 101,911 times
Reputation: 323
Exclamation How to force a MAC address change

Quote:
Originally Posted by eGeekUniverse View Post
IP addresses are dictated by the internet service provider, not the device.
Actually the device has a lot to do with your assigned IP address, which on some routers is changeable for the purpose of MAC address cloning. If you're able to edit the "WAN MAC address" in your router settings, you can "trick" your ISP into thinking you have a new router - or the same router if it's another model (and you want to keep your existing dynamic IP).

Just change the last WAN MAC address character to a hexadecimal number or letter, power it (and the modem) off for a few minutes, then back on. The ISP will usually give you a new IP address after everything reboots.

Later, you can reset the WAN MAC address to its default and repeat that cycle to change it again. It seems to work consistently with Comcast, at least.

The common ipconfig /release, /renew tip tends to be futile because the ISP still sees the same MAC address.

Last edited by Vodoven; 11-26-2017 at 03:10 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top