U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 12-21-2014, 08:11 PM
 
Location: Fairfax County, VA
3,720 posts, read 4,866,473 times
Reputation: 1458

Advertisements

I've noticed that on my parents computer, the automatic location indicator is listing their current location in Wichita, KS but they live in Virginia. I first noticed this on Groupon, then other websites that ask for your current location. They use Firefox 34.0.5

Could this be a Firefox bug? Or something else?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-21-2014, 09:02 PM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,545 posts, read 5,678,821 times
Reputation: 2654
It's more likely to be an ISP related thing (since this is usually done via Geolocation based on the IP).

I use Verizon Wireless for primary access a lot, and get routed to different places depending upon where we are. It's Knoxville TN right now (I'm close to Greenville SC right now).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-21-2014, 09:53 PM
 
28,607 posts, read 40,593,270 times
Reputation: 37271
Assuming Google Maps is the culprit then changing it to the right zip won't stay if you delete cookies, etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-22-2014, 03:21 PM
 
Location: Somewhere in northern Alabama
18,526 posts, read 55,444,914 times
Reputation: 32226
Geolocation based upon IP address is a STUPID idea. The sites that do it irritate the p*ss outta me.

Aldi currently has me in Hutchington Kansas, Sav-a-lot in Denver, Publix in Nashville area of Tennessee - all at the same time. Walmart and a couple others at least have the sense to use a cookie to properly remember where I was last time I set the location.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-22-2014, 03:36 PM
 
26,158 posts, read 15,737,854 times
Reputation: 17235
You should be GLAD they got the info wrong!!! (Means your REAL info might stay more private )
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-22-2014, 06:32 PM
 
Location: Tyler, TX
15,209 posts, read 18,490,079 times
Reputation: 8052
Wichita is near the geographic center of the continental U.S. When a site can't determine your location other than being somewhere in the U.S., it will often default to that general area. This is just what I've gleaned through my own observations - the geolocation tools I'm familiar with work differently than that, but I'd wager that the reason it happens is something along those lines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-23-2014, 01:38 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,815 posts, read 13,959,030 times
Reputation: 8049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
You should be GLAD they got the info wrong!!! (Means your REAL info might stay more private )
Yes, because GOD HELP ME I CAN'T LET GOOGLE KNOW WHERE I LIVE!!!!!
It's helpful to me that Google knows where I live. I'm a law abiding citizen so I really could not care less if Google knows where I live. It's actually helpful to me.....

"Neither Mozilla or Google will ever use the information collected by Google Location Services to identify or spy on you."

For the millionth time: Google doesn't know that Joe Blow lives at 123 Main St. Google knows that user #2569 lives at 123 Main St. This data is, and always hes been, hidden for your protection.

Now to address the question: Firefox by default blocks website from finding your location. That is all that is going on here. This is how to enable location on any browser:

https://support.google.com/maps/answer/152197?hl=en
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-23-2014, 01:53 PM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,545 posts, read 5,678,821 times
Reputation: 2654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Now to address the question: Firefox by default blocks website from finding your location. That is all that is going on here. This is how to enable location on any browser:

https://support.google.com/maps/answer/152197?hl=en
In my case, this is a little different.

These aren't sites asking for my location, they are sites that use server based geolocation that's failing based on my cellular IP (that used to work when I was on a land based ISP).

Happens a lot to satellite users as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top