U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 09-18-2008, 09:50 PM
 
3,191 posts, read 8,332,904 times
Reputation: 2180

Advertisements

Hello! not sure it this is where to ask this, and couldn't find an answer on search....
Yahoo has this banner saying to upgrade to Firefox 3 Yahoo edition. Can anyone tell me if this is good to do? will I still have internet explorer and would Yahoo still be my homepage?
Sorry I am not very savvy when it comes to this stuff and didn't want to download it if questionable.
Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-18-2008, 11:07 PM
 
Location: Tyler, TX
15,209 posts, read 18,488,428 times
Reputation: 8052
Firefox 3 is fantastic.

Yes, you will still have Internet Explorer (although I don't know why you'd want to use it ).

Any page can be your home page - regardless of your choice of browser.

Go ahead and install it. You can always uninstall it, but once you get used to it, you'll probably never want to use IE again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-19-2008, 12:02 PM
 
3,191 posts, read 8,332,904 times
Reputation: 2180
thank you swagger. Maybe I will give it a try I have heard thta Firefox was pretty good. We'll see what happens!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-20-2008, 10:33 AM
 
10,752 posts, read 18,001,409 times
Reputation: 10244
I always recommend to NEVER get modified versions of freely available software, always get the original Firefox web browser | Faster, more secure, & customizable
The yahoo version is likely loaded with crap you don't need, yahoo toolbars, messengers, and so forth.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-20-2008, 11:10 AM
 
3,191 posts, read 8,332,904 times
Reputation: 2180
Hey NHDave....thanks.I haven't done anything yet. Still need to research more. May leave well enough alone. It's not like I use the computer for anything but prowling around online
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-20-2008, 04:57 PM
 
2,896 posts, read 6,071,253 times
Reputation: 5023
You can always utilize the IE add-on to your Firefox browser.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/35

It allows you to open a site in IE while within Firefox or to always open certain sites in IE with a right click.

I haven't used the IE browser in years other than to interact with the MS website.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-20-2008, 05:37 PM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 9,075,778 times
Reputation: 1632
There are some online scanners that will only work with IE, as well as places like Crucial.com. I guess it has something to do with Active X.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-13-2008, 09:52 PM
 
1 posts, read 2,495 times
Reputation: 10
i need to know the same thing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-14-2008, 09:03 AM
 
4,608 posts, read 7,362,106 times
Reputation: 1245
I think the key to the OP question is...

Quote:
upgrade to Firefox 3 Yahoo edition
OP, you can install Firefox without doing the Yahoo version. Like NHDave says, to NEVER get modified versions of freely available software, I'd agree. You can set your homepage to Yahoo or BooHoo or wherever you like without installing proprietary requirements of some Yahoo in Silicon Valley.

Next, you can install the Firefox add-on of Internet Explorer for those pages written by that same Yahoo in Silicon Valley who didn't care that he's limited his audience by writing a page that is crippled on a superior interface, ie, Firefox.

I do recall, at the time IE came out in v7, that those who had the Yahoo version of IE couldn't install IE 7, or rather had to UNinstall the IE 7 due to conflicts. I'd expect the same from a Yahoo version of Firefox.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:37 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top