U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 09-23-2008, 11:47 PM
 
Location: Victoria TX
42,663 posts, read 75,359,941 times
Reputation: 36174

Advertisements

Why can't I refresh a thread in City-Data forums and see what I've just posted? Once I post something, I hve to go all the way back to the main Forums page, call up the list of threads, and refresh that. Then follow it through to the thread where I just posted.
I'm now editing this in Firefox. Let's see what happens when I try to come back here.

Yes, when I edited in Firefox, and returned to the page, the edited additions were there. But when I went back to IExplorer, and called up the page, the edited mareaiel was not there. I refreshed, and it still wasn't there. So it is a browser problem---something in City-Data is not compatible with my version of IEsplore's refresh, while the same message board template in other sites is.

Last edited by jtur88; 09-24-2008 at 12:59 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-23-2008, 11:57 PM
 
Location: Tyler, TX
15,209 posts, read 18,488,428 times
Reputation: 8052
Could be your browser. Try a different one.

If you're at a site that forces the use of a proxy server (could be transparent - you may not even know it's there), then there's not a lot you can do about it.

Reboot. (Seems to fix a myriad of Windoze problems )
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-24-2008, 12:46 AM
 
Location: Victoria TX
42,663 posts, read 75,359,941 times
Reputation: 36174
I also use other message boards, which are using the same template, and I do not have the problem there. Only on City-Data. It is a perpetual phenomemon, so rebooting is not a fix. It's not a huge problem, it just requires several extra clicks to get to the same place. (I inadvertently edited my post #1 instead of this one, to test another browser)

Last edited by jtur88; 09-24-2008 at 01:00 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-24-2008, 01:01 AM
 
Location: Texas
5,070 posts, read 9,075,778 times
Reputation: 1632
Odd. I don't have the problem.
I'm running
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.2) Gecko/2008091620 Firefox/3.0.2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-24-2008, 04:16 AM
Yac
 
5,966 posts, read 6,630,809 times
I've been using IE (6 and 7), Opera and FF (both the 3 and 2 versions) and never had the problems you describe. And I spend a lot of time here
This problem is not on our side (or so it seems). Unfortunately I don't know how to help you ..
Yac.
__________________
Forum Rules
City-Data.com homepage
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-24-2008, 08:21 AM
 
28,607 posts, read 40,588,688 times
Reputation: 37262
IE/Tools/Internet Options/General Tab/Browsing History/Delete

Delete Temporary Internet Files

Assuming IE v7
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-24-2008, 11:06 AM
 
Location: Somewhere in northern Alabama
18,511 posts, read 55,435,808 times
Reputation: 32216
It seems pretty obvious that you are being forced into reading a cached version of the page, rather than grabbing a new copy of it. If you click on the back button of a browser, you typically get a cached version, if you click on refresh, a re-read of the original appears.

Your problem of clicking on refresh and getting a cached version doesn't mean that the cache is necessarily your browser's cache, especially if you have tried a couple browsers.

Say you read a thread and use the "quick reply," sending off the reply via the "post quick replay" button. The reply has to get out, across the net, to the server, the server update, and then when you hit the button on your computer, send it back to you.

You could have a slow uplink to the server, your ISP could be using some local caching to reduce bandwidth, or a few other things.

What happens if you write and send a reply and wait? Does your reply appear at all? Or does it just go off and never show up?

Have you tried waiting twenty seconds and pressing the refresh button on the browser?

What ISP are you using and what connection type?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-24-2008, 01:53 PM
 
Location: Victoria TX
42,663 posts, read 75,359,941 times
Reputation: 36174
I just ran a series of tests, and everything seemed to work correctly. Parhaps rebooting was the ticket. If it recurs, I will try to remember the sequence that failed to refresh.

-----

Last edited by jtur88; 09-24-2008 at 02:08 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-25-2008, 11:58 PM
 
Location: Victoria TX
42,663 posts, read 75,359,941 times
Reputation: 36174
Suddenly, tonight, everything is working the way I would expect. I have a Favorites set for the Politids Forum, and now , when I click on it, it goes directly to a refreshed version, without the necessity for me to refresh again when I get there. This is the first time that has ever happened.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-29-2008, 12:46 PM
 
709 posts, read 1,991,861 times
Reputation: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry chickpea View Post
It seems pretty obvious that you are being forced into reading a cached version of the page, rather than grabbing a new copy of it. If you click on the back button of a browser, you typically get a cached version, if you click on refresh, a re-read of the original appears.

Your problem of clicking on refresh and getting a cached version doesn't mean that the cache is necessarily your browser's cache, especially if you have tried a couple browsers.

Say you read a thread and use the "quick reply," sending off the reply via the "post quick replay" button. The reply has to get out, across the net, to the server, the server update, and then when you hit the button on your computer, send it back to you.

You could have a slow uplink to the server, your ISP could be using some local caching to reduce bandwidth, or a few other things.

What happens if you write and send a reply and wait? Does your reply appear at all? Or does it just go off and never show up?

Have you tried waiting twenty seconds and pressing the refresh button on the browser?

What ISP are you using and what connection type?
Good call. That is my first thought.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top