U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 11-23-2008, 09:35 PM
 
62 posts, read 419,867 times
Reputation: 634

Advertisements

If I use my Cell phone to connect to my laptop to dial into the Internet, can I use my AOL access number as one of my T-Mobile My Faves numbers so I can use it Unlimited?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 11-24-2008, 06:54 AM
 
Location: HoCo, MD
4,581 posts, read 8,192,327 times
Reputation: 5115
I think its technically possible as I've heard people doing that to dial into work for maintenance purposes (i.e. dial into a router or switch to configure them) - but its also a lot of work to setup the drivers...so I hear.

However, I believe the providers also frown upon continued uses of dial up networking; they obviously prefer you use their data plans. And it also depends on the type of network you are on... EVDO will not work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-25-2008, 03:06 AM
 
Location: kcmo
712 posts, read 1,963,174 times
Reputation: 373
I don't think that's possible at all and that's a waste of time and energy to be honest..

All digital cellphones by my understanding have internet access.. 1xx is what is used for CDMA but I believe GSM is used for t-mobile still that's a data network..

Here's what I suggest you do.. go to howardforums.com go to your phone's forum and do a search for "tether" or "laptop tether" this should provide you information on tethering and your options.. add your phone name to the specific search if you want to know capabilities of that phone..

I as a verizon customers for 4 years from 2003-2007 or so tethered all the time on there 1xx and EVDO networks.. now I do the same with sprint and I do it cheaper/better and on verizon's network if I want too.. (forced roaming)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-01-2008, 01:26 PM
 
1,097 posts, read 3,618,905 times
Reputation: 646
So you can already connect your phone to the modem on your laptop and get on AOL? And the only question is whether you can set the access number to one of your favorites so you don't burn up all your minutes? I don't see why not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top