U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 12-17-2008, 06:07 AM
 
3 posts, read 9,886 times
Reputation: 12

Advertisements

I have a wireless Network setup, with a modem and D-link router. All my wireless laptops can connect to this network.
My Desktop PC is placed in a room without an internet outlet but I have another D-link router setup to the desktop.
My desktop does not have any sort of wireless card. I need help connecting my Desktop with the second router, to my
pre-configured wireless connection.
Any help will be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-17-2008, 07:47 PM
 
Location: Beaverland, OR
588 posts, read 2,585,596 times
Reputation: 465
Go into the wireless router configuration screen, look under wireless settings and see if there is a place to change the mode from AP to client.

I have a Linksys, which I upgraded with the dd-wrt firmware, but I'm guessing most routers have this capability.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-17-2008, 11:01 PM
 
Location: kcmo
712 posts, read 1,963,174 times
Reputation: 373
It's rare to find a ap client on any router.. you may want to see if 1 of your 2 routers has the ability to take a 3rd party firmware like dd-wrt or openwrt

Otherwise I just suggest you ebay your router.. and buy yourself a client card.. for $10-20 (cheapie if you want)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2008, 12:55 PM
 
28,607 posts, read 40,588,688 times
Reputation: 37262
Found this: Aimed towards a Mac, but a router is a router is a router (usually). Depends on your routers having some features built in, but since we don't know what model you have it's crap shoot.

Connecting Imac G3 and 2 Windows Notebooks wireless [Archive] - The macosxhints Forums
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top