U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Investing
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-01-2013, 07:17 PM

2 posts, read 4,385 times
Default Merrill Lynch high quality and dividend yield screen

Hello,

I am brand new to investing and know almost zero about it..

What are peoples opinion on Merrill Lynchs high quality and dividend yield screen portfolio (or algorithm?)

Here is a thread from a different forum some time ago:
Bogleheads • View topic - Merrill Lynch High Quality & Dividend Yield Screen

The opinions were quite negative. The thread originator didn’t include the performance results, which I will do. See end of thread for results. I apologize for the format, I cut it from the PDF Merrill Lynch provided and it isn’t too readable.

I should quickly describe what it is. It is essentially a portfolio that they maintain for you, they have a stock screener which has about 6 rules that it applies to select about 20 Stocks for you that they update once a month. They typically will swap out one or two stocks for ones that are now deemed "better" based upon thier screen criteria.

Below, the portfolio results are on the left, the S&P is on the right. There is a 1.5% advisory fee.

Since I know nothing about investing, all I can really go by is the performance results for as long as the fund or strategy has results.

This fund looks great to me on results, as it only went down 9.4% in 2008. Yet most years performed in line with the S&P (even accounting for the 1.5% fee)