U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-31-2010, 02:25 PM

4,115 posts, read 8,384,784 times

Advertisements

So, the other day I was telling a parent about how, when I worked in customer service at an international airport, that I would always look forward to dealing with Iowans. (Usually, this was indicated by something that said Hawkeyes.) I interacted with people from all over the world. I generally enjoyed my interactions with Londoners, Torontonians, Japanese, Minneapolitans, northern Wisconsinites, and even Southern Californians. I did not, on the other hand, generally enjoy dealing with people from France, San Francisco, the D.C. area, and, sadly, some Midwestern areas like Milwaukee, Indiana and Cincinnati (which I live near).

However, there was just something about Iowans that I liked. Maybe it was the fact that I felt like many of the Iowans I met, in a sort of way, exhibited Southern hospitality without the Southern. This was regardless of where in the state they were from: Des Moines, Dubuque, northern Iowa, etc. I almost always found you all to be very friendly, conversational and just happy to be alive and healthy. And there are but just a few places I travel to, live or meet people from otherwise where the people seem to exhibit that.

So, my question, pardon the bad grammar: Whatta ya'll got in the water up there? The people impressed me enough that I actually want to come visit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-31-2010, 04:01 PM

1,744 posts, read 6,262,217 times