U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-19-2008, 02:30 PM

12 posts, read 105,916 times

Advertisements

How is life in the Ames area? Cost of living compared to other parts of the midwest? Is it possible to easily find 5-10 acres---we have 2 horses. How are the schools and crime? Are people friendly?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-19-2008, 07:30 PM

10 posts, read 31,528 times
I graduated from Ames High at a time when we had the state champion teams in track, basketball, academic decathlon, etc. By all means, the Ames schools have been superlative by national standards. Even the jocks had a lot of brains; it must have a lot to do with Iowa State faculty. The housing is not so entry-level priced because of that established wealth. The voters even decided they could afford to build a multi-million dollar outdoor aquatic park. Crime is nearly nil. Can't comment from personal experience on land or property taxes, but you know how farmland values have skyrocketed with crop prices.

Old 03-26-2008, 01:18 PM

49 posts, read 156,653 times
We have an area NE of Ames thats designed for ppl with horses. i cant rember the developments name, its N of 13th st, W of Dayton Rd just west of I/35. near the NADC vet labs.maybe someone knows the name. a relator would, contact them. big places probly 5/10 acers is average. lots of open country and small towns around if you cant find what you want.

Old 04-05-2008, 04:17 PM

39 posts, read 97,189 times
Default Places for ISU students with kids