U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Religion and Spirituality > Islam
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-23-2016, 05:30 PM

3,228 posts, read 2,852,261 times

Advertisements

There is only two weeks until my Toronto trip and while I did reach out to the Imam of the mosque, I never heard back from him. I am still going to go, but I was wondering what time I should arrive? I will be taking public transit and was going to get there by 11:30 AM. Would that be too early? And since it is my first time there, are there any customs for someone new?

The last time I went to one elsewhere, I reached out before I went and had a response. I met the Imam's wife beforehand and she introduced me.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-24-2016, 01:42 AM

3,166 posts, read 1,035,813 times
Friday prayer in Toronto, as with everywhere else, is soon after midday. The sequence would be:

12.10 the first call (Adhan)

12.30 the second call and Khutba (Sermon) by Imam

12.40 the actual formal prayer by all begins

Imam would be in masjid by about 12.15pm in any masjid with the above timings. It all depends on which masjid as there is usually a longer speech by the imam in some masajid which often begins at around 12.15, which means the imam would be there before that time. Whatever the case, Friday prayer never begins before or at noon but about 10 minutes afterwards.

Old 03-24-2016, 05:40 PM

Shukran, Khalif! I'll plan to leave at the original time - I rather be early than late because as I said this is my first time in Toronto (and Canada) and not sure of their transit.