U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-18-2010, 08:32 PM

7 posts, read 14,617 times

Advertisements

I'm a college freshman looking for work in the Miami area to help with college expenses. I never worked before and I am not bilingual, so that puts me at a disadvantage in my city. So far this summer I have been making applications, hitting the streets, talking to managers of local restaurants, using my parents network but no dice. I have been applying to many fast food places, grocery stores, restaurants, and some retail stores in my area, but have only received five in-person interviews and ten phone calls out of a bit more than 100 applications for many low level positions. On the interviews I feel that I did quiet well, and emphasized my ability to learn quickly, my good grades in high school, as well as the fact that I'm starting community college in the fall. I followed up a few applications in the beginning of the process but I quickly learned that like it said on the job application, I'm not supposed to call or email about my application and thus I didn't get any answers (which is disappointing). I also followed up on my interviews but only to learn they were going to hire someone else. On my last interview for a bagging job for a grocery store I asked why they didn't hire me and their answer was that I wasn't bilingual in Spanish (as most managers I talked to prefer that I was) and that they were looking for someone that can work at anytime.