U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-06-2012, 12:08 PM

460 posts, read 875,537 times

Advertisements

Good Afternoon.... my brother and I have a little disagreement on building a resume, and I am just curious of peoples experiences, ESPECIALLY those who have done hiring, or have had to sort through resumes. (Please note that if you respond).

What work History should you list on your resume? Especially individuals who are fairly new to the "regular work force". I have two years of professional work experience out of college......

I have 4 years of college, a Bachelors and Associates degree. I have done a couple internships, and worked as a waitress, bartender, corporate trainer etc through college and before.

Most regular simply serving jobs don't apply to the sales and marketing area I am currently in, (besides learning to work with different people etc), but as I explain in my resume, I did many different things for my companies that included sales, marketing, and management.

So what is your experience? Do you think once someone has entered the "real work force" they should no longer include jobs they had during or previous to college years?

If you think it's okay to put applicable information, would it be stretching it to say that I had 5 years experience in sales and marketing if I am including school and all my work experience?

(I have had some professionals suggest that you have at least 5 years of work history regardless of your situation and current titles etc).

Thanks!