U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-12-2012, 02:27 PM

23 posts, read 87,043 times

Advertisements

The only work experience I have currently is retail, was with Target for just shy of 3 years. I graduated high school back in 2008, started working around the end of 2009, and did a bit of schooling towards the end of 2010, but that really didn't work out for me (went to The Art Institute, big mistake I know, for graphic design and quickly decided that wasn't what I wanted to do). That's really all I have going for me currently, my resume is pretty bare bones (I do plan to give it a complete reworking, and get I know I need to get a cover letter done as well) as I've only really got my high school and my previous job (singular) on it. My references are also rather weak, don't really have any I would call professional, certainly none from fellow coworkers (especially since most of my coworkers were people I was already friends with or went to school with) or bosses. I really only have a couple friends that happen to own their own business that I've known for many years. I do plan to go back to school at some point, I realize that is important, especially the way things are nowadays, but with my current living situation it is much more important that I have a steady source of income first and foremost.