U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-12-2013, 04:21 PM

177 posts, read 474,872 times

Advertisements

I work in the IT industry for the last 15 years, doing Technical/IT Support. My resume is solid and so is my work history.
Currently I am unemployed since November, looking for a job etc.
My resume is posted everywhere from Monster to Indeed to CareerBuilder. I get a lot of calls and emails regarding my resume etc. most of them from consulting firms/staffing firms.
Yesterday another well known IT Consulting Firm called me, went over my resume from top to bottom told me about potential opportunities blaabla, they also asked me odd questions about my former jobs/ companies who the managers are, interviews I had etc.
Ok the recruiter said, let me email you the info etc. Good bye.
I NEVER heard back from them, infact this is the second person from this consulting firm that is doing that to me.
I also had a couple other firms do similar things... and then I never heard back from them. Is this normal ? Do they just make random calls ? Are they calling just to meet their numbers ? Are they really a waste of time ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-12-2013, 04:26 PM

10,078 posts, read 14,047,183 times